FC Barcelona announce “strong” squad for Champions League 1st leg against Liverpool

01/05/2019

The Blaugrana welcome Liverpool to Camp Nou for the first leg of their UEFA Champions League semifinal, and Ernesto Valverde has called up the following 18 players to be in uniform:


Goalkeepers: 1. Marc-André ter Stegen, 13. Jasper Cillessen

Defenders: 2. Nélson Semedo, 3. Gerard Piqué, 15. Clément Lenglet, 18. Jordi Alba, 23. Samuel Umtiti

Midfielders: 4. Ivan Rakitic, 5. Sergio Busquets, 7. Philippe Coutinho, 8. Arthur, 20. Sergi Roberto, 22. Arturo Vidal, 26. Carles Aleñá

Forwards: 9. Luis Suárez, 10. Lionel Messi, 11. Ousmane Dembélé, 14. Malcom


With no injuries or suspensions for the first leg, there are no surprises in the list from Valverde. Rafinha is the only one missing through injury, while Jean-Clair Todibo, Jeison Murillo, Thomas Vermaelen and Kevin-Prince Boateng miss out per the manager’s decision.

Predicted starting XI (4-3-3):

Ter Stegen; Roberto, Piqué, Lenglet, Alba; Rakitic, Busquets, Arthur; Messi, Suárez, Coutinho


The match kicks off at 9pm CET, 8pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 3pm ET, 12pm PT (USA), 12.30am IST (India, Thursday), and you can join us to follow and comment all the action in our live blog.

news today

Popular Today

From Talented Kids to National Science and Maths Quiz: Samuel Owusu makes unbeatable history; makes everyone proud
Man shoots his girlfriend for infecting him with HIV/AIDS.
Live Streaming: Finance Minister Presents 2020 Mid-Year Budget Review (Watch)

You May Also Like