CAF Announce Final Nominees For African Player Of The Year Award


CAF have announced the final three nominees for the 2019 African Player of the Year award, although one player from Algeria’s Africa Cup of Nations-winning side made the cut.

see the nominees, as announced by CAF.

Mahrez, Salah, Mane

The final nominees short-list is cut from 10 players to three, with the award ceremony taking place on Tuesday, 7 January 2020.

Liverpool star duo Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah have both made the final cut after their impressive year that ended with a UEFA Champions League title, UEFA Super Cup and mosts recently the Club World Cup.

Manchester City star Riyad Mahrez rounds off the nominees list after claiming the Afcon title as well as the Premier League and League Cup with Manchester City.

The European-based players also dominated a number of the other awards, as Achraf Hakimi , Samuel Chukwueze and Victor Osimhen have made the short-list for the African Youth Player of the Year.

Who do you think should win the award?

news today

Popular Today

From Talented Kids to National Science and Maths Quiz: Samuel Owusu makes unbeatable history; makes everyone proud
Live Streaming: Finance Minister Presents 2020 Mid-Year Budget Review (Watch)
South Africa halts AstraZeneca Covid-19 vaccine Rollout

You May Also Like