Adwoa Safo & Fomena MP reportedly voted against NPPs Prof. Mike Ocquaye


Members of Parliament, Adwoa Safo and Fomena MP were the NPP MPs who voted against the NPP’s nominee for Speaker, Prof. Mike Ocquaye, according to reports.

As part of the processes to officially swear in the MPs-elect to the 8th Parliament, a speaker needed to be elected. For several hours of chaos and banters between the NPP and NDC, the voting finally came to a close.

Alban Bagbin was finally elected as the Speaker of Parliament.

However, sources have said 2 NPP MPs, Adwoa Safo and Lawyer Andrew Amoako Assiamah voted against NPP’s choice for speaker.

Adwoa Safo, according to sources has an issue with the Speaker, due to his posture during the NPP Primaries whereby he wanted his son, Mike Ocquaye Jnr to contest her as MP for Dome-Kwabenya.

Therefore, it is convincing that she may not want Prof. Mike Ocquaye as Speaker anymore against his party’s will.

Fomena MP, on the other side was interested to be chosen as 2nd Deputy Speaker and therefore Prof. Mike Ocquaye victory would have blocked his chances since the current speakership would have been retained. He therefore needed to play smart and vote Mike Ocquaye out.

Meanwhile, voting was done secretly and therefore the only way one could tell who voted for who, can only come from a conversation they may have done prior to the voting.

Stay on for more…

news today

Popular Today

From Talented Kids to National Science and Maths Quiz: Samuel Owusu makes unbeatable history; makes everyone proud
South Africa halts AstraZeneca Covid-19 vaccine Rollout
Live Streaming: Finance Minister Presents 2020 Mid-Year Budget Review (Watch)

You May Also Like